1. The forums will be archived and moved to a read only mode in about 2 weeks (mid march).

A simple question for developers or php coders

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by CreeperMonster, Jun 19, 2017.

1. CreeperMonster

CreeperMonster Slime

GitHub:
    CreeperMonster
    How many days/month/months/year/years did it take for you to learn php ?
    Sorry for my bad english.

2. Thouv

Thouv Slime

GitHub:
    adeynes
    I've been using PHP for about a year now, but I still consider myself a very big noob and there's sooo much more for me to learn, it's pretty impressive/humbling. Most professional developers have been programming for several years before reaching their level.
    But you should be able to write small plugins after about 6 months if you start from no PHP knowledge and really put your heart to it

3. CreeperMonster

CreeperMonster Slime

GitHub:
    CreeperMonster
    I have some knowledge about PHP but Im still trying to make myself better. I have so many ideas but cant make it because of lack of knowledge

[EDIT] Fixed a typo

4. Thouv

Thouv Slime

GitHub:
    adeynes
    What I did when I had ideas but couldn't make them because I didn't have the knowledge is I just went for it. I did everything I could do, but whenever I didn't know something, I just looked it up. Of course, don't use this method for things that will go in production, but that's how I self-taught myself and I think it worked pretty well. For example, I wanted to make a login system but I didn't know how to store data. So I read up on MySQL and how to connect to it with PHP. Of course, in the end the project was a huge mess that was completely insecure, but I had learned how to connect to a database
    NOTE: This is just how I did it, so please don't come at me saying "you should never do that that's the worst way to learn etc etc"

5. CreeperMonster

CreeperMonster Slime

GitHub:
    CreeperMonster