1. The forums will be archived and moved to a read only mode in about 2 weeks (mid march).

Solved How to rename Level.dat file

Discussion in 'Help' started by StuntzCo, Feb 19, 2017.

1. StuntzCo

StuntzCo Baby Zombie

how do i rename a level I've exhausted all my options I've even opened it up with a text editor and renamed the level inside level.dat not even that worked I've tried fix name command with the many world plugin that didnt work either? any ideas ? Am i just a total noob again (answer = yes yes you are)

2. EdwardHamHam

EdwardHamHam Skeleton

GitHub:
    edwardhamham
    Well I'm afraid that the level.dat file's name can not be changed from "level.dat" otherwise the world won't load at all. If you want to change the name of a world, than you should be able to just by renaming the world save folder.

StuntzCo likes this.
  3. StuntzCo

StuntzCo Baby Zombie

ok heres my problem i renamed my world folder to Server-Lobby but everytime i stop my server it says unloading level apple copy 2 because for some stupid reason i named it apple copy 2 so i opened up the level.dat file and found where it said LevelName apple copy 2
    and i changed it to LevelName Server-Lobby

and even that didnt change it instead now my level.dat has no level name and i cant add it and when my server stops it says unloading world " "

4. StuntzCo

StuntzCo Baby Zombie

which is extremely annoying considering a lot of command use the world name which my world no longer has a F******** name (that word was firetruck u dirty minded noodle)

5. HimbeersaftLP

HimbeersaftLP Fish

GitHub:
    HimbeersaftLP
    No no no, NEVER do that

Step 1: Turn off server
    Step 2: Rename the folder to the name you want
    Step: 3: Use an NBT EDITOR (NO text editor) to change the levelname in the level.dat file
    REMEMBER: The folder name and the name i the level.dat must be the EXACT SAME name.
    Step 4: Start your server

Possible NBT editors: